News Items

January 28, 2017

Mike Johnson of Hickory - 2017 Time / Ally Dealer of the Year Nominee

Michael (Mike) Johnson recently represented the North Carolina Automobile Dealers Association in the national…


August 15, 2016

Hometown Heroes - Nominate a First Responder in Your Community

Join NCADA in honoring First Responders across our home state.  If there’s a fire, a…


March 24, 2016

William Musgrave - 2016 Dealer of the Year Nominee

NCADA would like to congratulate William Musgrave, of Subaru South Blvd, who has been chosen…


The TIME Dealer of the Year Award is the automobile industry’s most prestigious and highly coveted award for car dealers.  Time Dealer of the Year nominees represent the nation’s most successful dealers who hold a firm belief in community service and a dedication to supporting the industry. NCADA and North Carolina’s franchised dealers have been proudly represented throughout the years by nominees who are among the most prominent business leaders in their local communities and throughout the state.

Each year, NCADA recognizes a franchised dealer for extraordinary business performance, industry leadership, and community involvement by selecting them as North Carolina’s TIME Dealer of the Year Nominee.

Past Time Dealer of the Year Nominees
+National Finalist
* National Winner

2017 Mike Johnson
2016 William Musgrave
2015 Greg York+
2014 Ray Mckenney
2013 Mike Alford*
2012 Tim Ilderton+
2011 C. Owen Bertschi
2010 Mat Raymond, Jr.
2009 Don Price
2008 Sen. Harry Brown+
2007 David Farris
2006 John D. Greene, Sr.
2005 D. Wayne Thomas+
2004 Cynthia L. Mynatt
2003 Randy Marion
2002 Chester (Junie) Michael, III
2001 Robert P. Mayberry, Sr.
2000 C. Donald Williamson*
1999 Norwood Bryan+
1998 David W. Westcott
1997 C. E. Williams, Jr.
1996 Grady Shoe
1995 Jamie Parsons+
1994 Ben Mynatt
1993 Wade H. Tyner, Jr.
1992 Carl S. Ragsdale
1991 S. L. Shackleford
1990 Felix C. Simmons
1989 William P. Howard
1988 Harold B. Wells+
1987 P. David Brown
1986 Don Bulluck, Jr.
1985 George Lyles+
1984 Robert L. Neill
1983 T. Carey Ilderton
1982 Joe Nelson
1981 Earl Tindol+
1980 Walter A. Deal
1979 John R. Poole
1978 W.H. Anderson
1977 A. Coolidge Elkins
1976 Arthur W. Thomas, Jr.
1975 Frank R. Anderson
1974 James Fred Rippy, Jr.
1973 George 0. Stovall
1972 Carl L. Stewart
1971 Hugh A. Ragsdale
1970 James L. Lee


2017 TMQDA Award Nominee

Michael Johnson

Mike Johnson's Hickory Toyota

Michael Johnson Photo

Michael (Mike) Johnson recently represented the North Carolina Automobile Dealers Association in the national competition for the TIME/ALLY Dealer of the Year award at the NADA Convention in New Orleans.  The award is sponsored by TIME in association with Ally Financial, and in cooperation with NADA.  “I am very proud that my employees have the ability to better themselves and to better the community around us,” nominee Johnson said. “I have witnessed many of them move up through our company and provide themselves and their families with incredible opportunities, all while giving back to our community.”

Johnson is a 1977 graduate of Crestwood High School in Atlanta, Georgia. He earned a B.S. in business management from the University of Tennessee at
Martin in 1981, where he was a three-year letterman in football. The first step in Johnson’s automotive career was selling Nissans in Jackson, Mississippi, in 1983, where he was promoted to finance manager and eventually sales manager. He then moved to Southeast Toyota Distributors as a product trainer in 1988, becoming
district manager, regional manager and divisional manager before leaving in 1999 to purchase his own dealership. “When I bought the store, then known as Larry Smith Toyota, it employed about 20 people, and we have grown that number to more than 120 associates today,” Johnson said. He also owns Steve Padgett’s Danville Honda in Danville, Virginia.

Johnson is proud that his dealership is a 10-time recipient of the Toyota President’s Award. “It is the most prestigious award Toyota gives, and it is very difficult to obtain,” he said. “It is a full dealership effort. Not only must we meet vehicle, labor and parts sales goals, but customer satisfaction, owner retention and timely financial reporting are considered part of the award criteria.”

A member and former president of the Rotary Club of Hickory, Johnson currently co-chairs the group’s annual fundraiser, Rotarian Idol, a singing competition.
He has also served the Catawba County Chamber of Commerce; Hickory Foundation YMCA; and the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission, for
which he was appointed commissioner and will serve until 2022.